Anyox – “The Town that got Lost” 2018 Tour Highlights

Our June 2-3, 2018 tour to Anyox was one of our best as we had a couple of guests ( future story to come ) that had relatives that had lived and work in the copper mining town. This remote and hard to access ghost town has been abandoned since 1942.  Even after that many years the structures that remain are like gong back into a time warp.  With special permissions from the owner to visit and tour the site our guests are typically a handful of  lucky ones to visit the town each year.  Our group last year lucked out with blue skies and calm seas as we journeyed to this magical place.  Here are some photos from last year’s tour.

We are heading back to Anyox June 8-9, 2019 for those of you that are interested in exploring one of Canada’s most unique ghost towns.

1922 Anyox Surge tank still standing after almost 100 years
One of the guests looking through a window of the Anyox Powerhouse
Guests exploring inside the historic Anyox Powerhouse
One of the many headstones that still stand in the Anyox cemtery
Guests sitting on the top deck of the boat as we cruise down Observatory inlet enroute to Anyox
Checking out the water release valves inside the Anyox dam
Guests checking out the side of the Anyox Powerhouse
Guests photographing a lonely fire hydrant in the forest
The almost 100 year old Anyox Dam
An old steam locomotive lying abandoned in the swamp
The walls of the Anyox General Store
The Anyox Coking plant and stack reaching out above the forest

Ghost Towns of the East Line

Travelling  along the Upper Fraser to the end of the road through towns like Longworth, Sinclair Mills, Newlands, Hutton and Penny provides a glimpse into the past of our early resource based communities and the lives of the people that worked there.  We were fortunate enough to have Author “Ray Olson” provide interpretive knowledge and share his stories of growing up along the line.  All this is done while travelling in the comfort of a VIA rail train from Prince George to Penny.  When we arrive in Penny the Gobbi family generously provides lunch and tours us around the local homesteads and cemetery.  The day winds up with a Jet Boat ride down the Fraser River through historic and scenic Grand Canyon of the Fraser.

Last year the tour was so popular we delivered two trips to this historic part of our region.  Here are some highlights from last years tour!

Jet Boating through through the historic Grand Canyon of the Fraser
The old Penny BeeHive Burner
Jet Boating down the Fraser River on a sunny May day
Jet Boating through the Grand Canyon of the Fraser
Remnants of a Bee Hive burner along the Fraser River
Enjoying lunch with one of the locals
An old record player in a local homestead
Inside the Penny Community Hall
The Penny Cemetery
Entering the Grand Canyon of the Fraser
Waiting for the guests to arrive on the VIA Rail train
The Via Rail train arriving
An old homestead in Penny
Penny Community hall
The Penny Post Office

The Mystery of the “STOLEN” Anyox Light Bulbs!

Why would the word “STOLEN” be stenciled onto a light bulb!

The Mysterious Anyox "STOLEN" Light bulb
The Mysterious Anyox “STOLEN” Light bulb

You are about to find out.  The 1911-1935 Copper Smelting town of Anyox which is about 145 km north of Prince Rupert is only accessible by boat.  This town was a company town owned by Granby Consolidated.  They provided all the houses, electricity, sewer, water, store, transportation but one they they did not provide was “Light Bulbs”!  The company provided light bulbs for the factories, equipment shops, store, offices and smelter but not for the houses.  They were going through an increased number of light bulbs and soon realized that some unscrupulous residents were taking company light bulbs for their own residential use.

The company quickly came up with a plan to stop this unauthorized use.

Their  plan was to contract their supplier who would stamp all the official light bulbs with the word “STOLEN” in large capital letters, as this would discourage use of them in the residences and rooming houses.”

This worked for some of the more honest residents or those who were not willing to take the shame of displaying the words “STOLEN” on their lights.

Others were not as worried, and proudly lit up their houses with the words stolen reflecting on the walls of the house.

There were even stories of some families asking their children to take a piece of emory cloth and rub the bulbs as it made for a “brighter” light  while the children unknowingly removed the stigma of the stenciled “STOLEN”.

Anyox is a ghost town full of interesting stories and remnants.  That is why we will be visiting this remarkable ghost town again June 2-3, 2018.  Contact us for more information on making the trip with us.

Inside the Anyox Powerhouse- “Then & Now”

The Anyox Powerhouse is always one of the highlights for guests on the “Town that got Lost” tour!.  Even though a lot  of the equipment inside was removed it is still a surreal experience with all the rusted iron and steel remnants providing a glimpse into the past.  Amazingly a few plants and shrubs have taken root amongst the industrial wasteland, giving it an even eerier feeling.
Anyox Powerhouse Then & Now
Anyox Powerhouse Then & Now

Constructed in 1911, Powerhouse No. 1 was the heart of the mining and community operations, providing electricity for the smelter, machine shops and other mining operations, as well as the town, until the mine closed in 1936. Secondary powerhouses and substations in the mine site produced electricity for the ore-haulage railway trolleys and other equipment. Constructed of brick and steel, 50 feet wide by 180 feet long, the building’s concrete foundations are laid on solid rock. Brick for the Powerhouse was originally imported from Sidney Island. Later brick, for refurbishing the building, was likely produced at the brickworks on the Anyox site. The building is a massive, elegant structure with an unobstructed interior volume. Ten bays with curved window openings and clerestory windows along both sides of the upper portion of the roof contribute to an impressive facade. A 15-ton crane, used to move the machinery, runs the entire length of the interior of the building.

Looking down into the Anyox Powerhouse
Looking down into the Anyox Powerhouse
The outside brick walls of the Anyox Powerhouse
The outside brick walls of the Anyox Powerhouse
An old Pelton Wheel inside the Anyox Powerhouse
An old Pelton Wheel inside the Anyox Powerhouse
Looking through through the roof of Anyox Powerhouse
Looking through through the roof of Anyox Powerhouse

The Tragedy of Wilfred Sheldon Teabo

One of the highlights to the Ghost Town of Anyox is the Graveyard.  It is now overgrown with mature trees but amazingly little else grows under the trees as the area suddenly opens up and is devoid of vegetation once entering the cemetery.  On my first visit to Anyox when we did a reconnaissance trip to source out unique things to see fro the guests.  I was with the owner of the town and it had been many years since he had been to the cemetery.  He had a basic idea where it was but it still took us two hours of bushwacking to find the site.  That is how seldom visited this place is.  We then spent two days brushing out a path for the guests to walk into the graveyard and keep it cleared every year.

One of the first headstones you will see is that of 8 year old Wilfred Sheldon Teabo.  He was a young boy who tragically drowned in the toxic waters of Fall Creek.  Read the caption below from the book “The Town that got Lost” for more information on his death.

The cemetery is about one km for the ocean.  The bottom historic photo show the cemetery and the faint white crosses at the base of the hill.

We still have a few spots left in our two day Anyox tour June 3-4, 2017 or June 10-11, 2017. Don’t miss an opportunity to visit one of BC’s largest towns from the early 1900’s

The gravesite of Wilfred Teabo at Anyox
Caption about Wilfred Teabo from the book the “Town that Got Lost”

 

Anyox cemetery crosses at the end of the street
The Town that got lost Book

A Time Warp – Let us take you back to the 80’s

How many of you would jump at a chance to be taken back in time to the 80’s ? Well…… it is now possible through the Ghost Towns of Northwest BC Tour where we visit the town of Kitsault.  Our exclusive access to this 1980’s ghost town will take you back in time to 1983 when the moly mine closed and the towns residents were told to pack up and leave.  The town has been left as is for 35 years.  Complete with a shopping mall, swimming pool, fully equipped hospital, curling rink, movie theatre, library, pub, gymnasium, stores, apartments and houses.  How many of you remember the harvest gold appliances?  you will be re-aquainted as you spend the night in one of the 1908 apartments complete with harvest gold stoves and fridges.  You do not want to miss an opportunity to be one of the few people allowed exclusive access to this town and btw who wouldn’t jump at the chance to go back in time!

Guests waiting for the movie to start in the Kitsault Movie theatre
Guests waiting for the movie to start in the Kitsault Movie theatre
Guests waiting for the stores to open in the Kitsault Mall
Guests waiting for the stores to open in the Kitsault Mall
Kitsault Hospital bed
Kitsault Hospital bed
Kitsault Apartment
Kitsault Apartment
Kitsault Swimming Pool
Kitsault Swimming Pool
Harvest Gold Kitchen

Save

Save

Save

The Port Essington Hi-Lo

One of the most photographed items on our visits to Port Essington is the abandoned boat lying in the deep sedge grass. I was fortunate enough to find out some more information on the boat and acquire a photo of the boat when it was seaworthy. The boats name is the Hi-Lo and it was a small crab fishing boat that plied the inner water of the coast in search of crabs. The lady who told me about it said that she remembers fishing on it it with her grandfather and rolling out a sleeping mat on top of the warm engine compartment at night time to go to sleep. The boat looks a little worse every year we go back there but still stands out prominently in the dark green sedge grass. We visit Port Essington on a few of our tours and we are doing a Brand New one day tour to Port Essington May 27, 2017. Don’t miss this opportunity to visit the town that still “Stands Guard over the Mouth of the Skeena”

The Hi-Lo at Port Essington
Hi-Lo boat

2017 Northern B.C. Adventure Tour Dates Just Released

2017 UNBC Continuing Studies
Northern B.C. Adventure Tours

NOW OPEN  FOR REGISTRATION!

A one-of-a-kind experience. Since 2014, UNBC Continuing Studies has been offering awe-struck adventurers rare access to seldom-visited historic sites, wondrous wildlife, and stunning natural scenery that is distinctly Northern British Columbia. See our list of past and new tours that are now open for registration.  Check back daily for blog posts on all of the tours!
 
Sturgeon caught for research purposes Fraser River White Sturgeon Tour

Upper Fraser White Sturgeon Biology Experience
May 4-5, 2017
Prince George, BC

Canneries of the Northcoast
May 8-June 11, 2017
Cassiar Cannery, Port Edward, BC

Cassiar Cannery Canneries of the North Coast Tour

Historic Fort George River Journey
May 15 or June 17, 2017
Prince George, BC

Historic Ft George Canyon Historic Ft George River Journey Tour

The Port Essington Experience
May 27, 2017
Terrace, BC

The Port Essington Experience Tour

“The Town That Got Lost” Anyox Exploration
June 3-4, 2017
Terrace, BC

The Anyox Powerhouse “The Town That Got Lost” Anyox Exploration Tour

Northwest BC Grizzly Bear Discovery Tour
June 6-10, 2017
Terrace, BC

Grizzly Bear walking the shore Northwest BC Grizzly Bear Discovery Tour

Skeena River Historical Jet Boat Journey
August 1-6, 2017
Hazelton – Port Edward, BC

Navigating the 200 km trip down the Skeena River Skeena River Historical Jet Boat Journey Tour

Ghost Towns of Northwest BC
August 20-26, 2017
Terrace, BC

The Ghostly and Abandoned Kitsault Shopping Centre Ghost Towns of Northwest BC Tour
Combining the knowledge of local experts with unique destinations and activities, Continuing Studies’ jet boat tours will provide you a spectacular story all your own.
 
“It was indeed one of the best travel and educational experiences that I have encountered.”
–          Ron Paull
For more information check out our Blog or our website http://www.unbc.ca/continuing-studies/courses-workshops
or contact Rob Bryce at (250) 960-5982 or rob.bryce@unbc.ca

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

What’s Showing at the Kitsault Movie Theatre?

On our Ghost Towns of Northwest BC Tour we visit the modern day ghost town of Kitsault. It has been in a time warp since 1982 when the town closed and everyone was told to leave. One of the interesting things we see on our exclusive tour is the Movie Theatre. Past residents have commented that they saw movies like Bambi, Snow White, Rocky Horror picture show plus it even doubled a venue for weddings and church service. Very Cool place. Check out our 2016 tour on how you can visit this place.

Guests getting ready for a showing a the Kitsault Theatre
Guests getting ready for a showing a the Kitsault Theatre
Kitsault Movie Theatre
Kitsault Movie Theatre

Alice Arm Bakery

When we visit the individual ghost towns on “Ghost Town’s of Northwest BC” we are always looking for a story or a bit of the past that still remains. In Alice Arm one of the things we will see is the Old Alice Arm Bakery. The window where the fresh bread and pies still remains along with the log building. No idea on the exact date of it but probably around the 1920’s based on similar style structures there. Here are a couple of photos of the old bakery window and what main street looked like in the past.

Alice Arm Bakery Window
Alice Arm Bakery Window
Alice Arm Main Street
Alice Arm Main Street