The Adventure begins in Prince George!

We have three great tours lined up for the Prince George area this spring.  Exploring the history of our region via train and jet boat as we visit remote and hard to reach sites rich in early 1900’s stories of the past.  We also provide an opportunity to be a part of one of the most unique biological tours in the province.  We assist the Lheidli Tenneh Fisheries program in locating, capturing and tagging Upper Fraser White Sturgeon “The Dinosaurs of the River”.

The Nechako and Fraser Rivers are our highways for these three tours as we explore the two of the largest canyons on the Fraser River and remnants of our early 1900 transportation methods.  Our knowledgeable accompanying resource persons will provide facts and stories to make this one of the most memorable trips you have ever been on.   You do not want to miss out on these amazing trips.

Upper Fraser White Sturgeon Biology Experience – May 3-4, 2018
Historic Fort George River Journey – May 11, 2018
Ghost Towns of the East Line: History of the Upper Fraser – May 12, 2018

For More Information:
https://www.unbc.ca/continuing-studies/courses/tours

Old Miworth Reaction Ferry Pontoon

 

The Telemetry receiver in action
Historic Ft George Canyon Historic Ft George River Journey Tour
Sturgeon on the Upper Fraser River
Old Beehive Burner at eh Eastline Ghost Town of Penny
Ringbolt in the Grand Canyon of the Fraser
Ringbolt in the Grand Canyon of the Fraser

The Lower Skeena Canneries and Historic Sites!

The lower Skeena Estuary and coastal area is home to this region’s most historic sites. This seldom visited area has a a wide variety of unique sites related to the early history of this region.  The area is home to the many abandoned canneries, boat building towns, mills, and fishing villages. There were over 30 canneries on the north coast in the early 1900’s and this created many associated towns and industry in the area. Touring this part of the NorthCoast is truly a memorable experience for anyone interested in a unique historical adventure!

May 15-18, 2018 at Cassiar Cannery

The Hi-Lo Crab Boat
Cassiar Cannery from the Air
Remnants of Claxton Cannery
Old abandoned North Coast Boat
Old cabin at Osland
Haysport Boardwalk
The Rainbow House at Oona River
An Old Boat House at Oona River
Old Dr House at Digby Island
The foundation of the Old Hospital on Hospital Island

Inside the Anyox Powerhouse- “Then & Now”

The Anyox Powerhouse is always one of the highlights for guests on the “Town that got Lost” tour!.  Even though a lot  of the equipment inside was removed it is still a surreal experience with all the rusted iron and steel remnants providing a glimpse into the past.  Amazingly a few plants and shrubs have taken root amongst the industrial wasteland, giving it an even eerier feeling.
Anyox Powerhouse Then & Now
Anyox Powerhouse Then & Now

Constructed in 1911, Powerhouse No. 1 was the heart of the mining and community operations, providing electricity for the smelter, machine shops and other mining operations, as well as the town, until the mine closed in 1936. Secondary powerhouses and substations in the mine site produced electricity for the ore-haulage railway trolleys and other equipment. Constructed of brick and steel, 50 feet wide by 180 feet long, the building’s concrete foundations are laid on solid rock. Brick for the Powerhouse was originally imported from Sidney Island. Later brick, for refurbishing the building, was likely produced at the brickworks on the Anyox site. The building is a massive, elegant structure with an unobstructed interior volume. Ten bays with curved window openings and clerestory windows along both sides of the upper portion of the roof contribute to an impressive facade. A 15-ton crane, used to move the machinery, runs the entire length of the interior of the building.

Looking down into the Anyox Powerhouse
Looking down into the Anyox Powerhouse
The outside brick walls of the Anyox Powerhouse
The outside brick walls of the Anyox Powerhouse
An old Pelton Wheel inside the Anyox Powerhouse
An old Pelton Wheel inside the Anyox Powerhouse
Looking through through the roof of Anyox Powerhouse
Looking through through the roof of Anyox Powerhouse