On our “Canneries of the NorthCoast” Tour we will visit the the sites of over 10 canneries that were situated in the Skeena River Estuary. Some have many buildings still remaining while others are just a a set of pilings. For those that like to explore and “poke” around there is always a plethora of items to find laying in the mud or in the forest where the canneries once stood. For photographers there is no shortage of unique and interesting photo opportunities that can’t be found anywhere else.
Haysport was one of these Skeena River Canneries. it lies on the north side of the Skeena River across from Port Essington and adjacent to the Grand Trunk Pacific rail line. It was named for Charles Hays, president of the railway at the time. It was established in cold Storage facility in 1910 and as a cannery in 1919. By the 1930’s fishereis had moved the commercial fishing boundary below this point which hurt the cannery and it eventually closed in 1938.
Today many pilings remain as well as a 500 m fairly intact boardwalk or Haysport mainstreet. There are also lots of old items and remnants still littering the surrounding forest.